January 7, 2014 - 10:41 — PatriciaDaniel

Every year, the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association, presents the Caldecott Medal to the most distinguished Picture Book of the previous year.  The medal has been awarded since 1938. The first winner was  Animals of the Bible: A Picture Book illustrated by Dorothy P. Lathrop. Last year's winner was This is Not My Hat, written and illustrated by Jon Klassen.


Book Cover          Medal          Book Cover


We want to hear from YOU! The Children's Departments at Nichols Library, Naper Blvd. Library and 95th Street Library are asking our patrons to vote for their favorite Picture Book from 2013. Each library has 23 titles that we think are strong contenders for the Caldecott Medal. We invite you to stop in and take a look at the titles we've chosen, then vote for the one you think is the best. If we haven't listed your favorite, feel free to write it in. Voting will take place at all three libraries between January 7 and January 20. We'll also have a craft for you to do. You can even count this activity for the Winter Family Read Aloud program! We'll tally up the votes and announce which book our patrons feel is the most distinguished Picture Book of 2013. Look for the NPL winner on the Library Website and Facebook Page. The official winner of the Caldecott Medal will be announced at the ALA Media Awards on January 27th.

How many Caldecott Medal winning titles have you read? To find out, just click on the Caldecott Medal above to get a complete list of winners and honor books. You can check them out from your own award winning library!


Leave a reply
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
Enter the characters shown in the image.