Book Groups for the Month of December

Out of this World Book Club (NIC)

Thursday, December 01, 2016 at 7:00 PM -- Nichols Library
Celebrate both science fiction and fantasy with the Out of This World Book Club. Check with Mary Vacula at 630-961-4100, ext. 6301 to discuss particulars.
Thursday, Nov. 3 "The Martian" by Andy Weir
Thursday, Dec. 1 "The Forever War" by Joe Haldeman
Thursday, Jan. 5 "Station Eleven" by Emily St. John Mandel
Thursday, Feb. 2 "The Name of the Wind" by Patrick Rothfuss

Criminal Spines Book Club (NBL)

Thursday, December 08, 2016 at 7:00 PM -- Naper Blvd. Library
Peer into humanity's darker nature via the world of criminals and detectives. This book club discusses mysteries, thrillers, suspense novels and true crime. Red herrings swim and plot twists are the order of the day. Since the level of violence will vary from author to author, readers may contact Karen Toonen at 630-961-4100, ext. 2201 to discuss particulars.
Thursday, Nov. 10 - "Child 44" by Tom Rob Smith
Nov 9: 'Child 44' Movie Viewing - Join the Criminal Spines Book Club for a viewing of the film "Child 44," loosely based upon the case of serial killer Andrei Chikatilo, also depicted in "Citizen X."
Thursday, Dec. 8 "I Hunt Killers" by Barry Lyga
Thursday, Jan. 12 "The Other Woman" by Hank Phillippi Ryan
Thursday, Feb. 9 "Black Mass: Whitey Bulger, the FBI, and a Devil's Deal" by Dick Lehr & Gerard O'Neill

Readers Rendezvous Daytime Book Club (NIC)

Tuesday, December 13, 2016 at 10:30 AM -- Nichols Library
Daytime is a great time to talk about books. Join the Readers Rendezvous Daytime Book Club each month to discuss fiction and non-fiction titles on various topics.
Tuesday, Nov. 22 - "We Are Completely Beside Ourselves" by Karen Joy Fowler
Tuesday, Dec. 13 "For the Benefit of Those Who See" by Rosemary Mahoney
Tuesday, Jan. 17 "The Book of Unknown Americans" by Cristina Henriquez
Tuesday, Feb. 21 "Vinegar Girl" by Anne Tyler