Book Groups for the Month of August

Reader's Night Out

Monday, August 01, 2016 at 7:00 PM -- Other
Socialize with other readers at Quigley's Irish Pub in downtown Naperville and share recent reads and favorite titles. Arrive at 6:15 p.m. to purchase dinner, or join the group at 7 p.m. for the discussion only. *Program requires advanced registration.

Click here to register

Criminal Spines Book Club (NBL)

Thursday, August 11, 2016 at 7:00 PM -- Naper Blvd. Library
Peer into humanity's darker nature via the world of criminals and detectives. This book club discusses mysteries, thrillers, suspense novels and true crime. Red herrings swim and plot twists are the order of the day. Since the level of violence will vary from author to author, readers may contact Karen Toonen at 630-961-4100, ext. 2201 to discuss particulars.
Thursday, Aug. 11 - "Still Life" by Louise Penny
Thursday, Sep. 8 - "Deadline" by John Sandford
Thursday, Oct. 13 - "Dead Wake" by Erik Larson
Thursday, Nov. 10 - "Child 44" by Tom Rob Smith
Nov 9: 'Child 44' Movie Viewing - Join the Criminal Spines Book Club for a viewing of the film "Child 44," loosely based upon the case of serial killer Andrei Chikatilo, also depicted in "Citizen X."

Pizza and Books: Outdoor Teen Book Club (NIC)

Monday, August 22, 2016 at 6:00 PM -- Nichols Library
This book club is packing up and moving outside for the summer! Meet at the field next to the west end of the library. Bookworms can discuss books they have recently read, are currently reading or even old-time favorites. Pizza will be provided to fuel the conversation. For Teens in 6th through 12th grades.

Readers Rendezvous Daytime Book Club (NIC)

Tuesday, August 23, 2016 at 10:30 AM -- Nichols Library

Daytime is a great time to discuss books on various subjects, both fiction and nonfiction.

Tuesday, June 21
 "The Man Who Loved Books Too Much" by Allison Hoover Bartlett
 
Tuesday, July 26
 "Painted Horses" by Malcolm Brooks
 
Tuesday, Aug. 23
 "Into the Beautiful North" by Luis Alberto Urrea

Read Around The World Book Club (95th)

Wednesday, August 24, 2016 at 10:30 AM -- 95th Street Library

Travel the globe while discussing titles that represent a variety of countries and cultures.

Wednesday, June 29
 "The Vacationers" by Emma Straub
 
Wednesday, July 27
 "The Dinner" by Herman Koch
 
Wednesday, Aug. 24
 "All Our Names" by Dinaw Mengestu